Emmys: Nominated Choreographers To Create Number, Plus Reality Host Award to Creative Ceremony

emmy208With the Emmys airing next month on CBS, producer Ken Ehrlich is plotting a number of firsts that will grace the awards show on September 22. For the first time in Emmy history, the nominated choreographers will join forces to create a unique dance number that will feature host Neil Patrick Harris. The news comes not so long after Harris’s much talked about opening Tony Awards number.

In another first, the award for Choreographer will be handed out during the main Primetime telecast and not during the Creative Emmys, as has been tradition. Shifting from the Primetime telecast to the Creative Emmys to make room for the Choreography award will be the Reality Host category. “This came about because we wanted to look for another way to involve our host, our friend Mr. Harris,” said Ehrlich. “I was thinking about what we could do with him that would be different or unusual and exciting,” added Ehrlich. “The idea of having him interact with these choreographers and dancers in this number just became something that was so attractive we couldn’t pass it up.”

This move is only for this year’s telecast, as next year’s producer could opt to do something entirely different or follow in what may become a new tradition. Derek Hough (Dancing With the Stars), Allison Holker (So You Think You Can Dance alum, nominee for Dancing With the Stars) will join forces with So You Think You Can Dance choreographers Sonya Tayeh, Tabitha & Napolean Duomo, Mandy Moore and Travis Wall for the special number. While it has not yet been announced who will perform, the option for the choreographers to grace the stage is on the table. The work going into the number will be used as a documentary of sorts during the Primetime Emmy telecast.

Each choreographer has been given the option to invite two dancers to participate in the number. Ehrlich also made a point to note that this number will not open the show, but rather be placed later in the telecast. As for the Reality Show Host award being handed out at the Creative Emmys ceremony, the winner will be a presenter during the Primetime Telecast and receive proper recognition for their award.